WTA Top Logo
WTA Logo
Subscribe to Rider Alerts via email    Home Icon Contact Icon Text Only Icon

Safety Net Service 


WTA offers limited transportation service, called Safety Net, to people in sparsely populated areas of Whatcom County. The service is limited to certain days of the week. It is intended to connect people from outlying areas to destinations in Bellingham, or to transit centers in Bellingham, Lynden and Ferndale.

Click here for a map of Safety Net Zones. Safety Net Zones do not include the ADA corridors highlighted in green or the Flex service areas.

Safety Net Service at-a-glance:



West county southwest of I-5 & south of Birch-Bay Lynden Rd

Tuesdays & Fridays

Northwest county north of Birch-Bay Lynden Rd plus area between I-5, Nooksack river & Guide Meridian

Mondays & Thursdays

North county north of Nooksack river between the Guide Meridian & Sumas Mountain

Tuesdays & Fridays

East county including Deming, Kendall, Acme & Mt Baker foothils


South county including Chuckanut, Lake Samish & south Lake Whatcom

Mondays & Wednesdays

Mid county between Bellingham & Nooksack river plus area north of Lake Whatcom

Mondays & Wednesdays

Lummi Island


Pt Roberts






Please call (360) 733-1144 or (360) 676-6844 (TTY) for details about the service available in your area:


Serving Bellingham and Whatcom County    © Whatcom Transportation Authority 2012       360-676-RIDE       Site Map