WTA Top Logo
WTA Logo
Subscribe to Rider Alerts via email    Home Icon Contact Icon Text Only Icon

Agency Description

Whatcom Transportation Authority (WTA) provides public transportation services throughout Whatcom County in Northwest Washington State.  Our services include Fixed Routes, Paratransit, and a Vanpool program.

WTA’s mission is to enhance our community by:

  • Delivering safe, reliable, efficient and friendly service
  • Offering environmentally sound transportation choices
  • Providing leadership in creating innovative transportation solutions
  • Partnering with our community to improve transportation systems

Service Area
WTA serves the city of Bellingham as well as the smaller towns and communities of Ferndale, Lynden, Blaine and Birch Bay, Lummi Nation, Sudden Valley, Kendall, Everson, Nooksack and Sumas.  We also cooperate with Skagit Transit in neighboring Skagit County, to provide service between Bellingham and Mount Vernon. 

WTA plays a major role transporting students to Western Washington University, to three local colleges, and to middle schools and high schools throughout the county.

Fixed Route Services
WTA offers 30 fixed routes, including a network of four high-frequency corridors within Bellingham.  Service is offered seven days a week, with more limited service on Saturdays, Sundays and evenings.

  • In 2014, WTA provided 5 million fixed route boardings, or approximately 17,000 boardings per weekday. 
  • Beetween 2004 and 2014, our ridership has increased by 74%.
  • In 2008, we were recognized by the Federal Transit Administration for achieving the highest annual ridership increase in the nation.
  • With an average of 38.3 boardings per hour, our productivity is the second-highest in Washington State.

Our Paratransit service area and span of service mirror those of our fixed routes.  We provide 190,000 Paratransit trips per year, or 630 trips per weekday. 

Fleet and Facilities
We operate 57 full-size buses (including eight hybrid electric buses), 37 Paratransit minibuses, and 39 vanpool vans.  We have four transit centers: Bellingham Station, Cordata Station (in North Bellingham), Ferndale Station and Lynden Station. 

Serving Bellingham and Whatcom County    © Whatcom Transportation Authority 2012       360-676-RIDE       Site Map